Annual Dinner and Prize Presentation

Another well-attended Annual Dinner with some 80 people turning up (the highest number for a few years) last Friday evening at the Charlecote Pheasant Hotel. There was so much chat in the bar that no-one wanted to sit down and eat – ChairmanSteve had to “round up” the stragglers!! This year the trophies were presented by the Club’s own celebrity, Lance Ravenhill.

Amongst this years awards were the Road Race and Criterium trophies which went to Andy Webb, and the Cyclo-cross trophy which went to Nick Bosworth. The Track award went to Lance Ravenhill after his fantastic year at National and European level (see articles below) and he received a standing ovation from the assembled diners. The Most Improved Rider trophies went to Jackie Hobson and Richard Fairholme and the Achievement Trophy went to the team who completed the Land’s End to John O’Groats ride, raising £4000 for the Warwickshire Air Ambulance in the process.

The few “least sought-after” awards went to Neil Goodridge (best dismount in a ford), Jon Stephenson (half-wheeling), Dennis Witt (“how not to lock your bike” award) and Phil Muir (runs organiser award).

We understand from the Hotel that substantial amounts of “malted barley and hops sports recovery drink” were consumed during the evening but despite this, some 35 members made it out on the Saturday clubrun!!

With record Club membership numbers this year, ChairmanSteve is already thinking about hiring an even bigger room next year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>